I’m Bored: Robert Kiyosaki Cashflow Online Game

Cashflow-101-Boardgame-by-Robert-Kiyosaki
This is not the board that I’m playing, the actual one that I’m playing right now is more prettier, but soulless.

Oddly for a guru that promotes financial education to the public (probably because I’m not born in the USA), the first time I officially heard about him was when in my grandma’s house, I borrowed a book written by him from my uncle who also lives there.

The book-Rich Brother Rich Sister, a very odd choice for my introduction with him (which is more of an autobiography for him and his sister, as we haven’t learn about Rob’s childhood again and again with his other self-help books).

As I’m writing about this, I’m hooked on Robert Kiyosaki, making me read some of his books (including his famous work Rich Dad Poor Dad, albeit in Chinese), so despite a lot of controversy surrounding him, with the fact that who was actually his Rich Dad in his childhood, I am a fan of him, and actually became a user for his website (www.richdad.com).

However, the only thing that I did his website is just to play the game that he made before he became popular: Cashflow, a Monopoly-like game that helps you to get out of the rat race.

The current online game is not the one that I’m playing. At the time I first started playing, I have to wait a long time to get the game working (and the new version, is even more frustrating), and watch a comic of a mouse and a turtle getting out of the rat race.

Objective
1. Get out of the rat race (the smaller circle) by accumulating passive income that surpasses your expenses.
2. Then in the fast track, wish that your rolls are good enough to step on you dream, or earn more passive income (another $50,000 to be exact)

Overall: In truth, I would rather see a board game that consists of only the rat race, which is a main attraction of the game, while the fast track is boring and in truth, I would see it as a rat race disguised as a rich opportunity land.

And speaking about those purple dream tiles in the fast tract, I would suggest that the game should add a rule that another way to win is to get 8 non-dream tiles to make it quicker and interesting.

How To Play
1. Choose your dream in the fast track, and then mutter angrily that your main stage is on the small circle.
2. Roll Dices, pray that you only get deal tiles.
3. If possible, pay down all your loans to reduce expenses (which sadly doesn’t include the ability to pay less taxes or reduce other non-loan expenses)
4. Get great deals in stocks, properties, gold and businesses to earn enough cashflow to jump into the fast task (the bigger, wider one

Board Tiles
Paycheck (Yellow): Thinks of it as your “GO” tile, but richer than the $200, which is your income plus whatever cashflow you have minus your expenses and loans, automatically get paycheck when you cross the tile.
Deal (Green in both Rat Race & Fast Track): Main tiles that help obtaining your cashflow (in stocks, properties, business or gold). You have a choice of small ($4,000 or lower) and big ($6,000 and higher, what about $4,001 to $5,999?). In the fast track is the same deal, but those deals only activate once.
Opportunity (Blue in Rat Race): Where you deal stuffs with properties, gold and business, usually needs you to sacrifice you cashflow for more cash (my advice, do it).
Doodad (Grey): From http://www.dictionary.com, a decorative embellishment. Or as I like to call it, frustrating game mechanic that siphons your money while not making it interesting.
Downsizing/Baby (Purple in Rat Race): The former is generous if it’s in real life, though everybody hates losing 2 turns and having to pay a full amount of expenses. While the later…I think that Robert Kiyosaki hates babies.
Dream (Purple in Fast Track): Pick on your dream, you win, pick on the other dreams, useless.
Nightmare (Blue in Fast Track): Like the Purple in Rat Race, 100 times worse.
Kinda strange as to why Purple and Blue has different functions in the Rat Race and Fast Track.

Financial Statement
Not having to reprint papers is always an advantage in an online game, as it’s simple and eco-friendly. And all the information provided by them is really nice as well.

Aesthetics
Compared to the initial online game I played (which is no different) it is definitely cleaner with the dice rolls and the board, but it took a lot of soul from the original game.

Where’s the mice that impersonate the occupation I’m working?

Where’s the music (admittedly annoying to listen repeatedly)?

Where’s the comic book intro?

Multiplayer
Nice enough, but why do you need to take away the ability to get computer players?
And the chat log also being a game flow notification is useless for people trying to chat with each other.

Is It Worth It To Sign Up Just To Play This Game On Free?
In truth, I wouldn’t if I didn’t sign up years ago in the first place. But it’s definitely a nice alternative to Monopoly, and signing up means free play.

3 thoughts on “I’m Bored: Robert Kiyosaki Cashflow Online Game

Leave a Reply

